CMJHSI have been away from my blog for several months (insert shameful face here) and have to say that I really missed this process! I think I just got caught up in the hustle and bustle of a busy school, family and karate life and didn’t make time to write. Being able to do this- to write and share my thoughts about the happenings of school life- is a wonderful opportunity. It allows me to express the brilliant lives of our students and the talents of the adults who support these students every single day. During this writing absence, lots of changes have occurred for me. I am now the Principal at Crowther Memorial Junior High school…and officially our students will arrive tomorrow September 1st. This is a very exciting adventure for me as I spent many years in this school as the Associate Principal- returning to this building is like coming home. As my blog reflects, I had been the Principal at Wheatland Elementary school for these past two years and thoroughly loved the rich experience and meaningful connections I was able to make. The rhythm and process of an Elementary school is vastly different than that of the middle years. The energy, innocence and wonder are all characteristics I would use to describe what I was witness to every day with those beautiful elementary children. It was a gift for me to be able to see first-hand the roots of our education system and how it all begins for littlest learners. This experience changed me as an educator and has allowed for my own lens to be deeply shaped in new and meaningful ways. I will miss very much all those little hugs and smiles  and have to be honest that those last couple weeks at Wheatland were very emotional. We become very connected and invested in the lives of children and families. All my tears those last several days were signs of love. My message to all the children that last day as I went from class to class was…”I will see you all again very soon and remember that when you come to Junior High, I expect some hugs” For the next seven years, I have the honor of being able to see these little children pass through the doors of the junior high and take those next steps on their journey. Until then…I am so excited about being back at Crowther Memorial Junior High. This will become my canvas of color and I couldn’t be more honored. Until next time…

Linda

You’re off to Great Places! Today is your day! Your mountain is waiting, So…get on your way!”

Dr. Seuss 

 

